Lawrence public and workplace smoking restriction brochure

Return to Lawrence Public and Workplace Smoking Restriction Home


Business Owners and Employers

The Lawrence Public and Workplace Smoking Restriction Ordinance No. 7782 is effective July 1, 2004. The ordinance restricts smoking in all enclosed public places and places of employment. The law also requires that every business have a written clean indoor air policy and that it be communicated to its employees.

What do you need to do?

The smoke-free ordinance requires:

  • Signage: Post signs at each entrance reading “No Smoking” (minimum one-inch lettering) or signs with the international no smoking symbol.
  • Policy: Implement a written smoking policy, as set forth in the ordinance, which includes communicating the policy to employees.
  • Action: Inform any person who is smoking in a nonsmoking area that he/she is in violation of the ordinance.

Smoking Restriction in Places of Employment

Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed areas within a place of employment without exception. This includes, but is not limited to: common work offices, elevators, hallways, company-owned vehicles, employee lounges, stairs, restrooms, and all other enclosed facilities.

Check out the law yourself

Please note that this summary is not intended to be comprehensive or provide an authoritative legal interpretation. For more detailed information about the ordinance, please refer to the actual text of the law.

You may access the ordinance at the City of Lawrence website at www.lawrenceks.org (select City Policies). To obtain a paper copy of the ordinance, please visit the City Clerk’s office on the third floor of City Hall located at 6E Sixth Street (8 AM – 5 PM, Monday through Friday).

Who will enforce the law?

Enforcement of the Lawrence Public and Workplace Smoking Restriction Ordinance is the responsibility of the Lawrence Fire Chief or his or her designated agent.

Patrons and businesses that violate the Ordinance are subject to a fine not exceeding $100 for a first violation, $200 for a second violation within one year, and $500 for each additional violation of this ordinance within one year.

Are there exemptions?

The following places are specifically excluded from the Smoking Restriction Ordinance:

  • Private residences, except when used as childcare, adult day care or as a health care facility.
  • No more than 25% of hotel/motel quest rooms.
  • Retail tobacco stores.
  • Outdoor places of employment.

Information and Community Resources

If you have questions about making the transition to a smoke-free work site, call:

Lawrence-Douglas County
Health Department
(785) 843-3060

You may visit www.lawrenceks.org (select City Policies) for more information concerning the actual text of the smoke-free ordinance, frequently asked questions, sample workplace policy and copy of this brochure.

For help in quitting smoking

Call the Kansas toll-free Quitline:
(866) KAN-STOP, (866) 526-7867

Visit the interactive website at:
http://www.kanstop.org

Ask your healthcare provider.

Community Resources:

Douglas County CHIP
(785) 843-3060

Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department
(785) 843-3060

Lawrence Memorial Hospital
(785) 749-5800

Watkins Memorial Health Center
(785) 864-9500

American Heart Association
(785) 272-7056

American Lung Association of Kansas
(785) 272-9290

This brochure was made possible by:

Douglas County Community Health Improvement Project

Working together to create a healthier community.