Licenses and Permits

Which form to fill? Check our directory of forms below.

For building permits, contractor licensing, or rental registration, please contact the Development Services Division at (785) 832-7700, or visit www.lawrenceks.org/pds.

Return completed documents to:

City of Lawrence
City Clerk's Office
6 East 6th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044

Or, fax to (785) 832-3305

Pay Online

Click here to pay your City Clerk bill online with a Visa, Discover or MasterCard.

The City of Lawrence uses Paymentus to process credit card payments online. A convenience fee of $3.25 is charged by Paymentus for each credit card transaction made. Payments made through Paymentus may take up to three business days to be posted to your account.

NOTE: If you desire to pay more than $200, you will need to post more than one payment.

Forms

Street Event Permit

For Street Events (such as 5Ks, block parties, street concerts):
Submit application to Public Works Administration office in City Hall - Ground Floor, via e-mail to streetevents@lawrenceks.org, or fax to 785-832-3398 Attn: Street Event Permits

Fee: $10

For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 16 Section 8 of the City Code of Lawrence

Public Right-of-Way Permit

For activities that impede or make temporary use of the public right-of-way, including sidewalks, streets, and public parking:
Submit application to Public Works Administration office in City Hall - Ground Floor, via e-mail to RoWPermits@lawrenceks.org, or fax to 785-832-3398 Attn: Right of Way Permits

Fee: $10

For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 16 Section 8 of the City Code of Lawrence

Temporary Liquor Permit Application

  • Application:
  • PDF (47 KB)
  • Word (349 KB)

Fee: $25

Temporary permit means a permit, issued in accordance with the laws of the State of Kansas, which allows the permit holder to offer for sale, sell or serve alcoholic liquor for consumption on unlicensed premises, which may be open to the public.

Falconry Annual Permit

  • Application:
  • Word (195 KB)
  • PDF (37 KB)

For any person designated and licensed as a falconer by the Kansas Wildlife and Parks Department. This application form must be completed by the falconer/owner, then approved by the City Clerk before owning a raptor within the city limits of Lawrence, KS.

Moving Permit

  • Application:
  • Word (224 KB)
  • PDF (43 KB)

A permit is required for moving a structure.

Sidewalk Sale Permit

Fee: $10 per day.

Alarm Company License

  • Application:
  • PDF (43 KB)
  • Word (218 KB)

A license is required to engage in or operate an Alarm Business that is in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 13 Section 3 of the City Code of Lawrence (PDF).

Alarm Business licensing fees:

  • $300 initial fee
  • $150 renewal fee

Licenses are not prorated.

Once the applicant has submitted a complete application and appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office, the application will be sent to the Police Department for process for approval. Once approved by the Police Department, the license will then be issued.

Alcohol License

  • Application:
  • PDF (91 KB)
  • Word (238 KB)

For a business selling any alcoholic beverage other than cereal malt beverage. 

Fee:

  • $500 if for a Class A or B Club, Caterer or Drinking Establishment
  • $600 if for a Retail Liquor

For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 4 Section 1 of the City Code of Lawrence

Cereal Malt Beverage License

For a business selling any beverages which contain not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight. 

Fee:

  • $225 if for on-premise consumption
  • $75 if for off-premise consumption

For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 4 Section 2 of the City Code of Lawrence

Going Out of Business License

  • Application:
  • PDF (28 KB)
  • Word (202 KB)

Retail businesses must have a "Going Out Of Business" license if they are going to advertise in any manner that they will be closing their business. This includes not only advertising such a sale in print, but also by banners or signs on the store. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 16 Section 4 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Going Out of Business licensing fees:

  • $150 initial fee; 30 days
  • $150 renewal fee; for an additional 30 days

The 30 days start from date of issuance, and can only be renewed one time.

The applicant must submit a complete application along with a generalized list of current inventory, and the appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office.

Horse-Drawn Vehicle License

  • Application
  • Word (225 KB)
  • PDF (45 KB)

A wagon, coach, or other vehicle that is powered in whole or in part by one or more horses, mules, or other animals is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 11 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Horse-Drawn Vehicle licensing fees:

  • $50 annual fee

License expires December 31st of each year.

Ice Cream Vendor License

  • Application:
  • PDF (40 KB)
  • Word (211 KB)

Any person attempting to sell ice cream by the use of a vehicle, is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 1of the City Code of Lawrence.

Ice Cream Vendor licensing fees

  • $25 annual fee

License is issued for a six-month period.

Once the applicant has completed the application, the applicant must take the application and their vehicle to the Health Department (200 Maine Ste:B) for inspection. Once the application is approved and appropriate fee is submitted to the City Clerk's office, the license will then be issued.

Kennel License

  • Application:
  • Word (190 KB)
  • PDF (33 KB)

Merchant Security Service License

  • Application:
  • PDF (55 KB)
  • Word (250 KB)

A business of guarding, watching, patrolling or otherwise attempting to provide security for the real or personal property of another person is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 13 Section 2 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Merchant Security Service licensing fees

  • $200 annual fee

License expires December 31st of each year.

The applicant must bring the appropriate fee, the application form, and a certification of insurance to the Police Department (111 East 11th) for receipting. After the application has been approved by the Police Department, the license will be forwarded to the applicant by mail. Application forms must be submitted for new licenses and for renewal licenses.

Merchant Security Officer License

  • Application:
  • PDF (50 KB)
  • Word (239 KB)

Any individual who is employed by a merchant security service to guard, watch, patrol or otherwise attempt to provide security for the real or personal property of another person is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 13 Section 2 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Merchant Security Officer licensing fees:

  • $50 initial fee ($25 if application is made after July 1st, of any year)
  • $25 renewal fee)

License expires December 31st of each year.

New license applicants and renewal applicants must submit the appropriate fee, application form, and turn in two, wallet-size photographs of him/herself to the Lawrence Police Department (111 East 11th). This may be done Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

A record check will be completed on applicants for both new and renewal licenses prior to the license being issued. The identification card and the license will be mailed from City Hall by Administrative Services.

Note: Licensees and permittees may have the right to carry firearms only after the completion of a firearm proficiency program. Each applicant shall pay an additional fee of $28 before being permitted to participate in the firearms proficiency program. The fee should be paid to the Lawrence Police Department for receipting.

Mobile/Street Food Vendor License

  • Application:
  • PDF (36 KB)
  • Word (197 KB)
  • $300 Fee

Fees paid for processing this application are not refundable or prorated in the event this license is denied, revoked, or issued for a partial year.

Mobile Home and Manufactured Housing Park License

  • Application:
  • PDF (28 KB)
  • Word (207 KB)

Any mobile home or manufactured home park within the City is required to obtain a license in the name of the owner(s) of the park. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 11 Section 1 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Mobile Home and Manufacture Housing Park licensing fees:

  • $5 per lot
License is issued for a five-year period.

The applicant must develop a site plan, layout or map of the park that includes:

  • Square footage of all lots
  • The number of lots currently occupied
  • Location of any storm shelters
  • Roads or streets within the park
  • Location of refuse containers or dumpsters
  • Utility connections or hookups for each lot including electric, gas, water and sewer.

Once the site plan is developed, it must be submitted along with the appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office. The Building Inspection Division will review the application and site plan, layout, or map. Once approved by the Building Inspection Division, a license will then be issued.

Pawnbroker/Precious Metal Dealer License

  • Application:
  • PDF (63 KB)

Any person who loans money on deposit of personal property, or deals in the purchase of personal property, on condition of selling the same back again at a stipulated price, or who makes a public display at his place of business of the sign generally used by pawnbrokers to denote their business, to-wit, three gilt or yellow balls, or who publicly exhibits any sign of money to loan on personal property, is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 5 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Pawnbroker/Precious Metal Dealer licensing fees:

  • $25 annual fee

License expires December 31st of each year.

Once the applicant has submitted a complete application and appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office. The application will be forwarded to the Police Department for approval. Once approved, the license will then be issued. Renewals are processed in the same manner as the initial license(s).

Pedicab Owner/Operator License

  • Application:
  • PDF (51 KB)
  • Word (388 KB)

For a person who owns and/or operates a vehicle that has two or more wheels propelled by human power to carry passengers for a transport fare.

Fee:

  • $150 if for an oversized Pedicab’s Owner License
  • $75 if for a Pedicab’s Owner License
  • $50 if applying for an Operator’s permit

For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 16 of the City Code of Lawrence

Sexually Oriented Entertainment Business License

  • Application:
  • PDF (61 KB)
  • Word (274 KB)

Any premises to which the public, patrons or members are invited or admitted on a continuing business basis and wherein an entertainer provides sexually oriented entertainment to a member of the public, a patron, an employee, or a member, is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 3 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Sexually Oriented Entertainment Business licensing fees:

  • $500 annual fee

License expires December 31st of each year.

The application and fee must be completed and submitted to the City Clerk's office. Any appropriate lists of partners or corporate officers/directors; a copy of any lease or rental agreement; and a site plan must be supplied.

Any partners or corporate officers/directors, must go to the Police Department, 11th and New Hampshire, 2nd Floor, Judicial and Law Enforcement Building, for fingerprinting and pictures. This may be done during the hours of 9 and 11 a.m. or 1 and 3 p.m., Monday through Friday. There is an additional fee charged for fingerprinting and photographing by the Police Department.

Copies of the application will be supplied to the Departments of Housing and Neighborhood Development, Fire, and Planning for review. All applications must be approved by the Police Department, , Housing and Neighborhood Development Department, and Fire Department prior to issuance.

Sexually Oriented Entertainer/Manager License

  • Entertainer Application:
  • PDF (40 KB)
  • Word (201 KB)
  • Manager Application:
  • PDF (39 KB)
  • Word (199 KB)

Any person who works as an entertainer or manager at a Sexually Oriented Entertainment Business is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 3 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Sexually Oriented Entertainer/Manager licensing fees:

  • $50 annual fee

License expires December 31st of each year.

The application and fee must be completed and submitted to the City Clerk's office.

The applicant then must go to the Police Department, 11th and New Hampshire, 2nd Floor, Judicial and Law Enforcement Building, for fingerprinting and pictures. This may be done during the hours from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. There is an additional fee charged for fingerprinting and photographing by the Police Department.

All applications must be approved by the Police Department prior to issuance.

Entertainers must have the application signed by the Manager or Owner that states the SOE Business intends to hire the applicant as an entertainer and the business is licensed or has applied for a license.

Sexually Oriented Business License

  • Entertainer Application:
  • PDF (64 KB)
  • Word (275 KB)

Sign Hanger License

  • Application:
  • PDF (36 KB)
  • Word (200 KB)

Sidewalk Dining and Hospitality License

  • Application:
  • PDF (57 KB)
  • Word (397 KB)

For a business that sells food and/or beverages for on-premises consumption and whose owner(s) seeks to use a portion of the City-owned sidewalk for the consumption of food and/or beverages by its patrons.

Fee: $3.50 per square foot

For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 12 of the City Code of Lawrence

Street Vendor License

  • Application:
  • PDF (45 KB)
  • Word (230 KB)

Any person wanting to sell food, flowers, or non-alcoholic beverages from a cart or stand temporarily located on certain sidewalks of the City is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 14 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Solicitor/Peddler/Transient Merchant License

Any person, whether resident of the City or not, traveling by any type of conveyance, from place to place, from house to house, or from street to street, taking or attempting to take orders for sale of goods, wares and merchandise is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Article 8 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Solicitor-Peddler licensing fees:

  • $250 annual fee

License expires December 31st of each year.

Once the applicant has submitted a complete application, photo I.D., and appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office, a picture will be taken of the applicant and a Solicitor I.D. card will be created and given to the applicant after approval of the submitted application.

A valid Kansas Sales Tax number must be provided prior to issuance of the license.

Taxicab License

  • Application:
  • PDF (39 KB)
  • Word (207 KB)

Any motor-driven passenger vehicle used for the purpose of transporting passengers for hire, is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 6 Section 6 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Taxicab licensing fees:

  • First Vehicle: $100
  • Second Vehicle: $50
  • Third Vehicle: $50
  • Each Additional Vehicle: $25

License expires December 31st of each year.

Once the applicant has submitted a complete application with the appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office, the application will be presented to the City Commission for approval. After approval from the City Commission the license may then be issued.

Tree Trimmer License

  • Application:
  • PDF (45 KB)
  • Word (222 KB)

Any person engaging in the business of cutting, trimming, pruning, removing, spraying or otherwise treating trees, is required to obtain a license with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 18 Section 2 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Tree Trimmer licensing fees:

  • $60 initial fee
  • $30 initial fee if certified by Kansas State Arborist Association
  • $18 renewal fee
  • $30 initial fee for dead tree removal only
  • $12 renewal fee for dead tree removal only

License expires December 31st of each year.

Once the applicant has submitted a complete application and appropriate fee to the City Clerk's office, the application will be forwarded to the Parks and Recreation Department for approval. Once the application is approved the license will then be issued.

Dangerous Dog Registration

  • Annual Registration:
  • PDF (36 KB)
  • Word (198 KB)
  • Annual Renewal Registration
  • PDF (35 KB)
  • Word (196 KB)

If it is determined by a municipal court judge that a dog is dangerous, the owner or keeper of the dangerous dog shall be required to register the dog with the City. For detailed regulations, please refer to Chapter 3 Section 3 of the City Code of Lawrence.

Registration of a Dangerous Dog fees:
  • $50 annual fee

Registration expires December 31st of each year.

For new registrations of a dangerous dog, the owner or keeper will need to take a copy of the registration form, supplied by the City Clerk's office, to the Lawrence Humane Society (1809 East 19th Street). There, a microchip will be inserted into the dangerous dog and all cost associated with this procedure will be incurred by the owner or keeper of the dangerous dog. This may be done Tuesday through Friday 11:30 a.m. to 6 p.m., Saturday, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

When all procedures are completed, the Lawrence Humane Society will sign the form, and submit it to the City Clerk's office with the appropriate microchip registration number.

All renewal applicants must submit the appropriate fee amount and registration form to the City Clerk's office.


Domestic Partnership Registry

The City of Lawrence provides the opportunity for two individuals to register their domestic partnership


Scrap Metal Dealers Registration

Department: