Non-motorized Transportation Stakeholders

Lawrence City Commission 6 East 6th Street Lawrence KS 66044 21 January 2015

re: Active Transportation Task Force

Mayor Amyx and Commission:

On 21 January 2015, members of stakeholder groups and individuals met to further the community discussion for planning and funding active transportation infrastructure in Lawrence. Participants attended from the following organizations: LiveWell Lawrence (Healthy Built Environment Work Group), Lawrence Pedestrian Coalition, Lawrence Association of Neighborhoods, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department, Traffic Safety Commission, Joint Economic Development Council, Metropolitan Planning Organization staff, Bicycle Advisory Committee, KU Bicycle Advisory Committee, Sustainability Advisory Board, Sustainability Action Network.

Persons in attendance were: Tim Herndon, Scott White, Leslie Soden, Bonnie Uffman, Stuart Boley, Dan Dannenberg, Carol Bowen, Marilyn Hull, Erin Paden, Todd Girdler, Robert Lewis, Chris Tilden, Charlie Bryan, Jeff Severin, Michael Almon.

All attendees agreed (Todd Girdler abstained) to submit the following to the City Commission as our recommendations that:

- 1) The City Commission charter a permanent Active Transportation Advisory Board that would assume all the duties of the Bicycle Advisory Committee, with additional corresponding duties for pedestrian transportation.
- 2) The City Commission appoint an Active Transportation Task Force as soon as possible to develop the purpose, scope, governance, and membership of a permanent Active Transportation Advisory Board, and make its recommendations to the City Commission.
- 3) The charge of the Active Transportation Task Force shall be:
 - to recommend the purpose, scope, governance, and membership of an Active Transportation Advisory Board
 - to make funding recommendations for the 2015 Lawrence budget to advance the development of the city's active transportation infrastructure
 - To complete its tasks within a time frame to be determined

4) The scope of the Active Transportation Task Force shall:

- encompass complete streets from a pedestrian and cyclist perspective
- consider walking and bicycling primarily as transportation
- approach the issue of design guidelines at a macro and micro level
- understand that design guidelines for pedestrian, bicycle, motor vehicle, and transit infrastructure are distinct from one another, and require an integrated multi-modal approach
- consider how the governance of an Active Transportation Advisory Board would relate to the Traffic Safety Commission and the Public Transit Advisory Board
- consider how an Active Transportation Advisory Board would recommend budget source revenues and set priorities for funding allocations

5) The membership of the Active Transportation Task Force shall:

- be no more than twenty members
- emphasize advocates for pedestrians, cyclists, senior citizens, children, transit, and those with mobility disabilities
- include representatives from
 - 1. Bicycle Advisory Committee
 - 2. Traffic Safety Commission
 - 3. Lawrence Pedestrian Coalition
 - 4. Sustainability Action Network
 - 5. LiveWell Lawrence
 - 6. K.U. Bicycle Advisory Committee
 - 7. Lawrence Association of Neighborhoods
 - 8. Lawrence Douglas-County Health Department
 - 9. Lawrence Police Department
 - 10. Lawrence-Douglas County Metropolitan Planning Organization staff
 - 11. Lawrence-Douglas County Office of Sustainability
 - 12. Lawrence Parks and Recreation Department
 - 13. Lawrence Public Works Department
 - 14. Lawrence Public Schools

We look forward to this process moving forward, and we thank you for your interest in appointing a task force as the first step.

Sincerely,

Michael Almon (representing all the above stakeholders)

cc: David Corliss