Employee Highlights

20-YEAR SERVICE RECOGNITION

Engineer Leo Leiker

Lieutenant. Sean Sawyer

Lieutenant. Greg Murray

Lieutenant, Ed Noonen

Captain Nathan Stover

Division Chief Lyle Schwartz

New Career Firefighters

Firefighter Mark Campbell Firefighter Brian Fitzpatrick Firefighter Kirk Landau

Firefighter Eric Miller

Captain Jim Saladin



ENGINEER JOHN DARLING



Engineer John Darling was hired as a fulltime Firefighter/EMT through the Department's Extraboard program on June 11, 2006. In the ensuing half-decade, he has sought and achieved additional responsibilities with the department.

2011 FIREFIGHTER OF THE YEAR

In 2008, with the support of the department, he became a Kansas and Nationally registered Paramedic. Since then, he has developed a reputation for strong EMS skills and thorough documentation. In 2009, after completing his apprenticeship program, John was promoted to the rank of Engineer. In 2010, he was selected as a Coroner's Scene Investigator and in 2011, he was appointed to Acting Officer, which allows him to serve as a company officer in the absence of a Lieutenant or Captain. Also in 2011, John was appointed to the IAFF Local 1596 Executive Board as Secretary.

In the last year, Engineer Darling has displayed a great deal of initiative in taking on additional projects and responsibilities, which range from streamlining the medical supply inventory, serving on department committees, and updating a portion of the Accreditation Manual.

John resides in Lawrence with his wife Melissa and son, Sean.





LIEUTENANT JOE MEHL

CAPTAIN LIEUTENANT STAN RAY MARK WILSON

RETIREES

Lieutenant Joe Mehl – 03/11/2011 (22 years of service) Captain Stan Ray – 12/17/2011 (35 years of service) Lieutenant Mark Wilson – 12/17/2011 (33 years of service)



LAWRENCE-DOUGLAS COUNTY FIRE MEDICAL 1911 Stewart Ave. Lawrence, KS 66046 (785) 830-7000 · (785) 830-7090 Fax Email: firemed@lawrenceks.org

served in the United States Air Force as

a Chief Master Sergeant.

VISIT US ON THE WEB: WWW.LAWRENCEKS.ORG/FIRE_MEDICAL



FIRE CHIEF'S COMMENDATION MEDAL

Engineer John Dines



20TH RECRUIT ACADEMY

Charles Biggerstaff Cody Briggs Brendon Crain Vicent Davis Matt Dohrn Daniel Franke Jennifer Persons Jacob Ross Trey Strohm Alex Wolfe



LIFE SAVING AWARD Lieutenant Scott Seratte Firefighter Eric Miller Firefighter Todd Dwyer



RETIRED FIREFIGHTER BREAKFAST





COMMITTED TO SAVING AND PROTECTING LIVES AND PROPERTY



2011



acely





ain Net Malcomb NRENCE Bud OUGLAS COUNTY EL Mart "RE . MEDICA" anotte Rich Stin Q: Jan ine ANNUAL REPORT



LAWRENCE-DOUGLAS COUNTY FIRE MEDICAL

